Novels by Vincent H. O'Neil

Mystery, Horror, and Science Fiction

"O'Neil is a polished storyteller with a breezy style."
--Marilyn Stasio in The Sunday New York Times

A tale of modern-day horror from award-winning novelist Vincent H. O'Neil:

In Providence, Rhode Island, graduate student Angie Morse has discovered evidence that an ancient stone obelisk worshiped by a colonial-era cult is still in existence. Hoping to finish her studies with a career-boosting headline, she's combing the woods to find it.

As she digs into the history of the obelisk and the cult that perished at its feet, she's plagued by bizarre events and shadowy figures from her college days. The more time she spends in the ghostly forests outside the city, the more Angie starts to suspect the obelisk is exerting the same influence on her that doomed so many others.

Vincent H. OíNeil brings a wealth of life experience to his writing. He has served as a US Army officer, a consultant, a risk manager, an advertiser, and as an apprentice librarian.

A native of Massachusetts, he holds a Bachelor of Science from West Point and a Master of Arts in International Affairs from The Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy. After writing in his spare time for many years, he won the St. Martinís Press "Malice Domestic" Writing Competition in 2005.

His award-winning debut novel, Murder in Exile, was the first book in a mystery series featuring the background-checker Frank Cole. It was followed by Reduced Circumstances, Exile Trust, and Contest of Wills.

He has also been published in two anthologies. "Finish the Job", his tale of a father-daughter team of art thieves who have some trouble breaking into a museum, is featured in Quarry: Crime Stories by New England Writers from Level Best Books and his darker story, "Blood Tells", about a money launderer who makes a big decision in a short span of time, appears in Bad Cop - No Donut from Padwolf Publishing.

His newest mystery novel, Death Troupe, is the first book in a theater-based mystery series featuring playwright Jack Glynn and the unusual members of the Jerome Barron Players theater troupe.

Harlequin Worldwide Mystery has released all four of the Frank Cole "Exile" novels in paperback, and published a paperback version of Death Troupe in 2013.

In 2012 he released a military science fiction novel of survival called Glory Main: A Story of the Sim War, which draws heavily from his experiences as a young infantry officer and paratrooper.

His latest work, Interlands, is a Lovecraftian horror novel set in Providence, Rhode Island. It features graduate student Angela Morse, who is searching the local woods for a lost stone obelisk once worshiped by a colonial-era cult that perished at its feet.

Works and Sample Chapters

Click on the link above to read a sample chapter
Military Science Fiction
Death Troupe Mysteries
Click on the link above to read a sample chapter
Frank Cole Mystery
Click on the link above to read a sample chapter
Click on the link above to read a sample chapter
Click on the link above to read a sample chapter
Click on the link above to read a sample chapter

Quick Links